ROW80 Check-in, Middle of Week 7

I’m in more or less the same situation as this time last week: I wrote my entire quota on Tuesday (1900 words already, this time), and now I’m putting up a rather late midweek update.

That makes this the third week in a row I’ve written more than 1500 words, so I think some extension of my goals is in order. I could make it a goal to post updates on time, but reporting on the lateness of my posts in my late posts seems a bit redundant.

Instead, I’ve decided my new goal will be to reflect, in each ROW80 update, on the writing I’ve done in the preceding half-week. The story I’m working on was always supposed to be a learning experience, and I’ve been told more than once that you need to go over what you’ve learned if you want it to sink in.

So, without further ado, here’s my reflection for this week:

I think I’m actually getting worse at keeping details straight, especially personalities. I remember reading that I should use synonyms of “said”, “looked”, etc. to distinguish characters, but I can never think of the right ones. Call in the Thesaurus!

I also forgot to write to a climax. I partly gave up on the story I was putting up here because it wasn’t going anywhere; to avoid that this time around, I’ve been deliberately introducing and resolving a problem in each session of writing. Comparing this week’s work with last weeks, it looks like having a climax in mind does help me write more cohesively.

And to prove the value of reflection, I realised something else while doing that re-reading: I’ve been writing a one-sentence mini-epilogue at the end of each scene. I looked at the ends of a few chapters in books I have, and it’s apparently a normal thing. Funny that I never noticed that before.

Lastly, here’s my linky.

Good luck and happy writing!

One thought on “ROW80 Check-in, Middle of Week 7

  1. Annie says:

    Hello, I pull out my thesaurus a lot too. Some times because I tried of a word, like the word looked. Happy writing and I hope you keep writing more then your goal in this next week.

Leave a Reply

