ROW80 Week 11: A Low Ebb

Here’s my ROW80 linky for this week.

I didn’t make any progress on my WIP since last week. I did do about 600 words of other writing, though: half sonnets, half the start of a new story. At this rate, I don’t think I’ve got much chance of meeting my goals for the round. As of last week, I’m at about 14,300 words, so I need another 3700 to meet my whole-round goal.

Since I ended this week 700 words behind, I need 2200 words to keep up with my week-by-week goal. I’d expect to manage that, except that I’ll be away for work on the weekend, and I doubt I’ll get much writing done.

Nonetheless, I think I’ll aim to get those 2200 words done by the end of the round next Wednesday. That will give me 1500 words per week over that week-and-a-half period, and put me pretty close to the eighteen-thousand-word goal I originally chose for the round. With luck, I can put most of those words towards my WIP;  I’m only two or three sessions away from tying off a story arc, which would be a good spot to set it aside for a while.

While I don’t have work on my WIP to reflect on this week, I do have the start of my other story. I wrote that by hand, which resulted in something much shorter than usual. Initially I was proud of writing such a terse scene, but it looks like I actually made it a bit too short. One of the characters seems to switch perspective for no apparent reason, as though I left out part of the argument she was having.

After writing that last paragraph, I went back and wrote another 400 words to fill in the transition. In doing so, I realised I was actually drawing on the social ineptitude I keep complaining about to write the scene; in particular, the situation where you can’t say something because it’s too important to you. Of course, that has the side effect of making the situation really important to the character I used it on; I’ll have to think about whether that was a good fit or not.

On the unambiguously bright side, I’ve shown that I can go back and re-write something without ruining it; I’ve never been very confident about that.

Good luck, and happy writing!

2 thoughts on “ROW80 Week 11: A Low Ebb

  1. First, forgive yourself. :) You’re doing great, getting into the habit of regular writing. Sometimes we just get derailed!

Leave a Reply

