ROW80: Ending Round 1, Starting Round 2

This is my final post for my first round of ROW80 (linky), and also my first post of the new round (Round 2 linky).

I only worked on my new WIP this week, so the old one’s still just short of my 18,000-word goal. But I did at least meet it if you count both WIP’s together, and I well and truly did if you count everything else as well. My total word count for this round was around 23,520 words: 17,100 my old WIP, 2,225 on the new one, 18 sonnets averaging 100 words each, 100 words or so of miscellaneous poetry, and 2,300 words of other writing. This doesn’t include my ROW80 blog posts.

I’m reasonably happy with those word counts, so I’ll aim for broader goals rather than higher numbers this round. I have been sacrificing other interests a bit over the past few months: I returned all my library books half-read on Friday, because they’d fallen due before I finished them. Near the end of this round, I also noticed I was losing focus on my main WIP, and I don’t want to be someone who never finishes anything. Therefore, I’ll add two new goals for this round:

  • Finish reading at least one book each week.
  • Finish the next two arcs of my main WIP (which I’m calling ‘Conkers’). That should bring me to an “end of book one” point.

I’m a bit apprehensive about how long I’ll have to spend reading, so I’m dropping my word-count goal to 1000 words per week, at least until I’ve got settled in to my new goals. Other than that, I’ll copy over my goals from last round:

  • Write 1,000 words per week, or a total of 12,000 over the whole round.
  • Reflect on something in my writing each week.

On that note, I’ll proceed to my reflection for this week (on the new WIP, again):

I’m still not happy with the dialogue in my current writing. There are parts of it that seem okay, but there are also parts that seem a bit stilted; especially the things that don’t translate to writing easily, like accents and interruptions. I suppose the usual advice of listening to real dialogue applies there.

The other thing I’m concerned about is the way I’m using words like “Okay” and “Look” every few sentences, as in “Look, I’m not sure what these words are called.” I think I’ve been using them for something to do with the moment-to-moment relationship between speakers; things like who’s “winning” in the conversation. The problem is that I’m using the same ones over and over, and I think it’s fairly inconsistent. I don’t think I’m explaining it very well, so I probably need to learn what this is called before I reflect on it.

4 thoughts on “ROW80: Ending Round 1, Starting Round 2

  1. Pam Baddeley says:

    That’s good progress! I think the word you are after might be ‘interjections’, at least that’s what people tend to call things like ‘Oh’, ‘Well’, ‘Okay’ etc added to a sentence, especially at the start, and to convey emotion.

  2. Eden says:

    I think Pam has it–they’re interjections (the old SchoolHouse Rock video might help you decide if we’re following your thought correctly: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_e24kdjdbtw ).

    As for the rest… Dialogue is hard. Really. You may find that you have to write and rewrite and rewrite it again and again before it feels natural to you, and then find that everyone else “hears” it differently anyway. In the end you just do the best you can, and you keep writing. It’ll work out in the end.

    And with goals that take into account the “whole you” not just the word counts, I’m positive of that.

    • isikyus says:

      Apparently you and Pam are right; they are interjections. I didn’t realise an interjection could be part of a sentence instead of just standing on its own.

      Thanks for taking the time to help me out.

Leave a Reply

