ROW80 Week 11: Inching Closer

For the first time since reading Worm, I’ve neatly met all my ROW80 (linky) goals this week.

I wrote another 900 words since Wednesday: two sonnets, and the rest half stream-of-consciousness stuff reacting to Super Crunchers, and half notes on setting for Conkers. That puts me at 2,100 for this week — quite sufficient to make up for the lost writing last week.

I also read The Great Gatsby, for the second time. Re-reading it with knowledge of the ending let me spot a lot of foreshadowing that I’d previously missed. I was also impressed by the way F. Scott Fitzgerald uses imagery: there are some very vivid metaphors used to describe scenes in the book.

I need to keep that in mind for some of the supernatural things in Conkers, which aren’t very easy to describe literally. Although I’d probably need less visual metaphors for that.

My goals also include writing Conkers and reflection, of course; but both of those are covered by things I’ve already posted.

Good luck and happy writing!

One thought on “ROW80 Week 11: Inching Closer

  1. Eden says:

    I never read The Great Gatsby but i keep thinking I should. Your point about rereading is a good one though for a lot of books… The first reading is kind of like testing the waters… The second (and sometimes third and fourth) reading becomes closer to actually getting your feet wet.

    Hooray for getting those sonnets (and other words) written. :-D

Leave a Reply

