The Average Hero

Time was, I found adventures everywhere:
One moment home, and duty called me forth.
So many times, it was too much to bear,
And every small request would earn my wrath.

I realised it was foolish to go on;
My doing good would leave me meaning ill;
I swore that no more uniforms I'd don.

Then came a foe that only I could kill.

I said I'd serve again, but knew I lied.
I told myself this fight would give me peace.
Though hard I tried, I faltered.
                                                Many died
Before I mustered will to match the beast.

    Now as a coward I am widely scorned,
    And since I left, each day has empty dawned.
Leave a Reply

