ROW80 Goals for Round One, 2014

I’m inclined to just use the same four goals as last round (write 1000 words/week, and five days out of seven; reflect weekly; read six books), since they seemed to work pretty well.

But my real goal isn’t to surpass a word limit each week — it’s to finish writing a story. And that, I didn’t do.

To fix that, I’m aiming specifically to finish Conkers this round. Based on a fairly rough outline, I estimate the full story will be about 50 scenes, 10 of which are still unfinished.

That suggests I can finish Conkers by the end of this round. But I sometimes finish a scene in only 500 words, so I suspect doing two scenes a week should be possible. I’ll see how it goes.

For now, these are my weekly goals:

  • Finish two scenes towards Conkers
  • Write on at least five days
  • Reflect on what I write
  • Read half a book (i.e. one every two weeks)

Good luck and happy writing!

Edit: oops, forgot the linky.

3 thoughts on “ROW80 Goals for Round One, 2014

  1. Kathy says:

    I started off Nano last year with the goal of not so much reaching 50,000 words but finishing chapters. I didn’t meet the schedule I gave myself but focusing on cohesive chunks of story turned out to be a lot easier for my peace of mind than focusing on word counts. I still keep track of my word count as I go, but any more it’s just to set myself small goals, like, can I get to X number of words before I quit for the night.

    Good luck with your goals!

  2. I like the goal “write on at least five days”. That’s a very precise, measurable goal, and a good one to strive for. Good luck!

  3. Julie Glover says:

    I like your goals — streamlined and specific. Best wishes completing Conkers this round. I also hope to make it through a whole WIP (although editing). And enjoy the reading!

Leave a Reply

