Unspoken

I rule no legions risen from the deep,
Command no weapons larger than a knife.
In darkest night, I stay in bed and sleep.
I would not fit a supervillain's life.

Nor do I rage against a rotten world,
Nor seek to breathe the putrid scent of sin.
I've sense enough to keep my feelings curled,
And deep and cold, drown thoughts they flourish in.

I honour clocks and roads, and do not stray.
I hold my counsel close — to nothing swear.
My fears and dreams are safely locked away
Within my past. Not even I know where.

But questions haunt me still, and will not die:
What was I then? How did I end it? Why?

This is my response to the Daily Post prompt for “Vice”. I suspect vice should be dealt with at the source, if it exists. :-)

2 thoughts on “Unspoken

  1. Lee McAulay says:

    “I honour clocks and roads, and do not stray” – love it!

Leave a Reply

