Persevearance

Defeat shall not be mine, nor shall remorse;
No storm infernal matches my attack.
No heart is brave enough to keep on course,
And dare to match my terms, and turn me back.

I shall not tire. Neither fairs, nor ills
Shall once divert me from my purposed path.
Nor hope of peace, though every weakling wills
It, ever be enough to stay my wrath.

To speak my name, and "failure", is to lie;
To question this, is treachery itself.
For I have won, and even as I die
I shall remain the master of myself.

And on my tomb, they'll write for all to see:
"'Just one more turn', for all eternity".
2 thoughts on “Persevearance

  1. Mike says:

    A fine sonnet of stamina and resilience with powerful purpose and language. Nicely done poet.

Leave a Reply

