ROW80 Week 8: Pressure

(Other ROW80 participants)

The Mary Sue project has been eating up most of my time for the past two weeks. Reading webcomics isn’t exactly hard work — but filling out a Mary Sue test for every character just takes time.

Which is to say, I haven’t done much writing.

I did steal a bit of time to work on a roleplaying project, though, and I wrote a few world-building notes as part of that — maybe a couple of hundred words in all.

This week, I’m aiming to fit five or six hundred words in between the Mary-Sue stuff. My local writers’ group has a round-robin story I need to add to and pass on to the next person.

Good luck and happy writing!

7 thoughts on “ROW80 Week 8: Pressure

  1. shanjeniah says:

    Do you actually have a Mary Sue checklist? That’s cool!

    Hopefully, the writing will pick up when the testing is finished.

  2. Harpwriter says:

    Interesting checklist. When I hear that term I tend to get edgy and worry someone will use it to sneer at my work. A quick perusal of the checklist was very reassuring.

    Here’s hoping you can make time to advance toward your goal.

    • isikyus says:

      I’ve never been really sold on the Mary Sue concept either; I found even this test pretty off-putting when I first read it (although it’s been improved a lot since then).

      That’s actually why I’m scoring all these characters: I want to get a better picture of what a score on a test tells you about the actual story.

  3. I like the idea of a round robin story. I wonder what my writers’ group would think of it. We’re all writing very different things. Hmm, it could be interesting. All the best with your writing.

Leave a Reply

