ROW80 Week 10: Not Enough

(other ROW80 participants)

This was a productive week, but not in the way I’d hoped. We had a house inspection on Friday and spent most of the week preparing.

The house is now much clearer, but it hasn’t helped my writing. :-)

Although I caught up on the short story on Saturday and Sunday, I didn’t quite meet my general writing goal — only five days this week.

Reflection

The short story is worrying me. I’m still making progress on it, but I feel like everything I change introduces something else that needs editing to fit.

I can probably finish a third draft if I put in five or six evenings this week; but for all I know, it would take another three weeks for it to feel polished.

More importantly, I’m worrying about whether I actually want to do that. I fear spending time to get writing done will eat into my sleep, and I’ll end up collapsing on the weekend.

On the other hand, the cleaning didn’t cause that this week. If I make a point of working on the story as soon as I get off work, I should be able to make progress without pushing anything else too far out of the way.

I suppose that’s what I’m planning for this week.

Good luck and happy writing!

2 thoughts on “ROW80 Week 10: Not Enough

  1. John Holton says:

    Well, the house is clean, and you’re still getting words on paper. I take it you’re done with the second draft… maybe printing it out and going after it with a red pen would help get it closer to done. It might help you take stock of what you have so far, and might give you some idea of what to cut. I’m sure all the things you’re changing are great.

  2. Cindy says:

    Maybe print it out and set it away for a few days, whilst you work on another project, and then take it out and review it’s current state.

    Best of luck battling the plot beast. :-)

Leave a Reply

